Are you Google or Yahoo?

Being veeerrrry much into web 2.0 I started uploading my pictures to web-albums some time ago. Google now has Picasa Web Albums to which I signed up. Really nice service if you ask me. It is a tad less ‘social’ since there is no public listing of photo-albums of people and you cannot search it but it is really nice if you want to have your online album and share it with people. One of the cool features is that not all photo’s are public. You can make private albums and invite people to look at them. A colleague of mine wanted to share his wedding pictures but he didn’t want the whole world to see them. Using Flickr this is not possible (or at least not that I know of) so Picasa Web Albums would be a good option. With Flickr you can only limit the sharing of photo’s to other Flickr user who are your contacts. But this forces people to have a Flickr account (e.g. a Yahoo account) in order to see my photo’s. Guys, wake up! Do you really think my mom has a Flickr account? I am glad to see that Google understands me better…;-) It seems that in the world of web2.0 you are forced to be either me2.0_yahoo or me2.0_google…..or even me2.0_microsoft…

Since now we are talking about photo’s let me share one with you guys. After all, in the web 2.0 world it should be a piece of cake to add my Google Picasa photo in this blog. Let’s give it a try. WordPress presents a box with an image upload service and image browser. I am not going to use that because that wouldn’t be very me2.0. So I’ll link to the image in my public album. But how do you do that? WordPress also gives me a bottom “insert image”. Let’s try that. Hmm, I need to set a URL. What could it be? I open up Picasa Web Albums and go to the image I want to insert. At the right of the photo I see a link called “add to blog” so I click on that. It then shows me HTML code to insert!!!!! Aaargh, this is back to the stone-ages! Ok, so I switch the the “code” view in WordPress and try to insert the HTML. Here we go:

Yep, I see the picture now. It is the iMax theatre in Valencia by the way. Really cool building. The only bummer is that the image is too small now. I want it to be as wide as the text column is. So I select the image and hit the “edit image” button. But in that settings window I have to set the number of pixels. Hmm, is there an other way? I notice the image has scaling “handles” now that I have selected it. Let’s try that. Whaooh, that works nice! The only thing is that the editor window in WordPress is wider that the actual width in the posting. So I need to try it a couple of time until it is about right. Guys, how about adding an option “text width” as a size option? In the end, I notice that the image looks badly scaled. Apparently Picasa only give a fixed size thumbnail so if I re-size it goes crappy….pfff.

Since I also use Blogger I thought that would be nicely integrated with Picasa since they are both Google product. But alas, not a tad better, expect for the image size options I mentioned in my previous posting….I guess it shouldn’t be that hard to add a Flickr or Picasa image browser functionality in a blog platform? Next time, I’ll tell you more about my photo album experiences.

3 Responses to Are you Google or Yahoo?

  1. Pirkka says:

    In Flickr you can share your private photos with friends who don’t have a Flickr account.

    After you create a set of photos marked as private, you can send a guest pass for that set by clicking the “Share this set”.

    Your guests get a specific link for the set that opens the private photos also for them. You can also expire the link anytime you want to.

    I do have to admit that it took some (a year) time for me to figure this out this function that I was also looking for.

    It is not well promoted at all – I guess they just want everyone to sign up. That not good, Flickr!

  2. Thank you a lot for giving everyone an exceptionally
    splendid chance to check tips from this site. It can be very terrific and full of a good time for me and my office
    mates to visit your blog at minimum thrice in one week to
    read the new things you have. Not to mention, I’m also
    always fulfilled considering the unbelievable guidelines you give.

    Selected 3 tips in this article are in reality the most effective we’ve had.

  3. Jaqueline says:

    I got this web page from my pal who informed me concerning this
    site and at the moment this time I am browsing this site and
    reading very informative content at this place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

